The Shack (2017)


The Shack movie is finally here! I read the book while I was in the Philippines, heard about it from Margy who told me it was a best selling book at the time. I even read it with the audio book and I loved the story. So I was really excited when I found out that they made a movie out of that book, I was not about to miss it.

God is so good, He made a way for me to watch the movie for free! Ladyboss’s church had a fund raising event and she blessed our Achieve team with free tickets to watch the movie!

I came by the office around 4pm, and Ladyboss had already told us we had to leave work earlier if we wanted to make it to the movie on time since it started at 6pm. We did take a detour before heading to the Monterey Cinema down at Howick, and took a trip to Ladyboss’s new house at Hamlin Road. I took a ride in the car with Jack while Jeisson rode with Elwin. Ladyboss had her friends with her to come along to the house too.

I was very amazed with the progress the house has had since the last time I was there helping her with painting the railings. Lovely curtains and the floor is all sanded up and polished. It should be all ready to rent out except for the second shower room.

Because of the horrible traffic enroute to Howick, we got there about 20 minutes late and missed a fair bit of the earlier story. However, it wasn’t too bad and we didn’t miss the main jist of it as we started from the part that they were just heading to the camp site.

The cinema was a small theater and by the time we got in, all the seats were pretty much packed. So I got to the end corner of the cinema but the view was still alright. Elwin was sitting beside me and I was a bit embarrassed cos I was balling my eyes out throughout the movie! Despite how much I knew about the story and how it would end, every word seem to touch me so much and its all the words that have come out of my very own mouth whenever I questioned God.

I do have to say, I have no idea why they chose to cast Sam Worthington in this movie. Is he a Christian? Did he have to audition for the role? Who knows. He was not entirely terrible but I think another actor would’ve made it more convincing, but hey, I still cried!

Whether or not this movie is Biblical, I have no idea and I don’t really care. It was wonderful and relate-able in my personal opinion so I’m gonna give it a 3.5 star out of 5. It would’ve been a 4 if not for the mediocre acting not just from the protagonist but also other characters in the movie could have been better.

Leave a Reply

