Jumpa lagi naaaanti Nek! #grandma


2016-05-15_10-58-03

Grandma left today. I mean, she was in the hospital for more than a week now, and the doctors did tell us she might not survive this time. So I was a bit prepared for that. But grandma has always been strong and persistent, never giving up and was really stubborn actually. But this time it was for real.

After coming home from Sunday lunch out, got a text from mom that nenek was no longer responsive and I got really worried. Quickly made a video to say Hi to her hoping she would see it and maybe wake up, but it was too late. I called last week and spoke to grandma but only managed to get some groans here and there, it wasn’t much of a conversation. I just wished I had thought about doing the video earlier. Stupid me.

To be honest, growing up, I have had a share of love hate relationship with grandma. She’s not the affectionate type and has always been more of a “tough love” type. I remember as a child, tagging along with her to her office cleaning job whenever it was school holiday season cos no one could take care of me at home while mom was out to work. I really appreciated those moments where she would take me to the wet market downtown during lunch time after she had finished work and we would eat at the food court there. As we passed along those wet market stalls, I’d always try to get grandma to buy me those little chocolate snacks with toys in them. Oh how I remember those days..

I also remember how she loved making fish nets and she hand made them by herself! I now wished I had took some interest in learning them since there’s never gonna be anyone in the family who would continue that skill anymore. She was also skillful in making beaded bracelets and sewing. She always helped me hemmed my pants that were too long or fixed whatever clothes I needed fixing. That woman even made all her clothes by herself! She’s the inspiration for me to take up sewing someday. But most of all, I remember how she always made use of extra cloth and sewed blankets from those left over fabric. Never wanting to waste anything.

nenek23

The two person I hold so dearly in my heart in this photo, have both left.. 😦

Terry was always grandma’s favorite, but it was ok cos I was just a kid and it didn’t really bothered me that much when I didn’t even realize there was favoritism going on right? But anyway, I sure miss them both..

24a

I really wish I could be with my family at this time, sucks that the timing was just not on my side as I have exams this week, and immigration is very strict with classroom attendance.

As a friend of mine said to me, it’s not a wrong or bad timing, its just God’s timing.

It sure is.

I’m just relieved that in my heart I know she has accepted Jesus Christ as her savior and we get to see each other again someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

