Auckland Coca-Cola Christmas in the Park 2015. 🎉🎄🎆🎅


Today I braved the crowd! An estimate of 7,000 people (according to the FB event page that said around 7.7K people) went to the Auckland Domain Park today to watch the festive celebration concert.

I invited the Choudary siblings to come to the park with me, and they brought other friends like Sasha, Juhi and the sibling’s flatmate, Shubam with them. So we were a group of six people who walked all the way from the city towards the Auckland Domain through the Grafton Bridge. I think that took us about 20-30 minutes walking from Hobson st. But you can hardly feel the distance since you walk with a bunch of good company along your way there. And we were not alone. A large crowd was also following close behind us as we walk through the Grafton Bridge where the road was already closed for all the people to walk through.

Arrived at the Domain entrance right at about 7:05pm and look how bright the skies are even at that time!

image

And everyone gets a free coca cola! The long slim type too!

image

image

As we got inside the Auckland Domain, wow… I had not seen that much people in Auckland gathered together like that until now. This was like ants everywhere! I was so starting to feel overwhelmed when I saw the crowd but still ok enough to pose a photo with that crowd behind me.

image

image

And we bumped into Jill at the event! She was actually trying to sell us some light thingy but you know us, as students who would bother to buy a 5 dollar stick thing that can only be used once? And this girl is a hardworking one too, she volunteered for this event and that’s why she’s on blue shirt with all the others, but she already has a job and still she wanted to volunteer to do this. Wow.

image

After getting on to the wide space and field, we started taking photos and doing what we girls do best. Selfies and poses and lots of snap shots. So be ready for a swarm of photos flooding this post.

image

image

The large Christmas tree set up in the middle of the park grounds. To be honest, I think I have seen much taller and bigger Christmas tree set up though. This was definitely not the most attractive or creative Christmas tree I have seen but kudos for the effort though organizers.

image

Look at all the swarm of people just chilling, all nicely set up their picnic mats and chairs and facing the grand stage.

image

I was just looking at picnic mats this afternoon while shopping at The Warehouse downtown and I was this close to buying one. Oh well, perhaps next time then. So we stationed ourselves where it wasn’t too crowded and we could still see the tiny stage somehow. Besides, I wasn’t so keen on watching the show but just to chill, hang out and listen to some good music.

image

image

After a brief moment of sitting and the program had just started with some singing of carols, mostly of local performers and artists, the gang decided to go check out the little carnival as Aadi and Sasha spotted a little Ferris wheel from where we were seated.

image

Looking at my surroundings while we were walking towards the carnival, I was surprised that I was actually enjoying the evening and the park even with all the crowd! It was not what I expected really, and suddenly the overwhelming feeling I had when I first saw the crowd after the passing the entrance to domain just went away.

image

In my mind, I thought the place would be overcrowded with people like how in the Philippines when you go to a concert or a big mall and still there is just too much people that you literally squeeze in between strangers and there is just no personal space as everyone is just “up in your face” like that.

image

But this was different! It was crowded, but because the place was just so wide and spacious, and perhaps because even as much as the crowd is a lot here, there is just not enough population compared with the Philippines!

Both Varsha and I also noticed that it was the first time we saw so many Kiwis out in one place! I mean, when we normally walk on the streets in the city, you see Asians everywhere! But this time, we see all kinds of Kiwis! As Varsha said, this time, she felt like she was REALLY in New Zealand! I couldn’t agree more 😝

image

The carnival entrance and ticket booth on the right side. All five of them went to pay 8 dollars for a 3 minute ride on the Scream Machine. I didn’t bother to join in on the ride cos I didn’t think that little Scream Machine was worth that 8 dollars. I can’t believe they charge 8 dollars for a measly ride. I mean, that should only be 5 dollars, come on!

image

I ended up being the camera girl, holding all their bags with me and just tried to take a good shot of their ride experience. It was a bit of a challenge for me though since the scream machine was so high I kept trying to go further back just so the whole machine could fit in the video screen.

image

After that one ride, the skies were getting darker, and we got a bowl of hot chips (fries) each and find another area to sit on and enjoy our snacks.

image

image

We found an area where the organizers had set up a big LCD screen so that even if we were far from the actual stage, we could still catch all the live action on screen. I didn’t particularly enjoy that fact cos it looks like we’re just watching the show from a very big TV but oh well, I guess it was the atmosphere, ambiance, and festivities of the surrounding that we were going for.

image

image

image

Now this was the part that was a bit disappointing for me. All the while I had the notion that Ed Sheeran was going to be a special guest performer, but I was wrong. And not 0nly that, the songs that the local artists performed were old school songs like “Wake me up before you go go” and “I wanna dance with somebody”. It’s like songs from the 80’s and you know how I really feel about 80’s song. 🙄

image

image

Although we didn’t get to see the actual stage from where we were seated, we did have an awesome background behind us. The Auckland Museum! And all lighted up in green and red too! Aadi didn’t manage a good photo though. I did a slightly better job at the photo as it wasn’t as blurry as the one he took. Hehehhehe.

image

Varsha, Juhi, Shubam and I went down the other side of the park towards the portable toilets because Varsha needed to go. And on the way there we saw the crowd that was closer to the stage and the atmosphere was really happening! It was a total party club scene down there! Well, yea I guess the party mood got better after they had changed up the music a bit from the old school songs to more modern takes like Taylor Swift’s “Bad Blood” and Bruno Mar’s “Treasure”.

image

Look at the little glow sticks among the crowd! And of course we had to take a groufie with that ‘happening’ background scene.

image

When Varsha was done, we were just talking among ourselves that we should start heading home since it was already 9:45pm and it didn’t look like the party was ending anytime soon. Then suddenly, the fireworks came on! Wooohoooo! That was a sweet surprise!

image

More fireworks as we went back to where Aadi and Sasha were seated and waiting for us. And then the artists on stage actually mentioned that “just before we end the night”, which meant the show is indeed coming to an end and we were just in time!

image

We headed towards the crowd where we could see the stage from afar and that’s also where more fireworks lit up the sky as a finale for the whole program.

image

image

I truly enjoyed myself! Such a pleasant surprise really! Perhaps I wouldn’t mind doing it again next year should they hold it here again. And then I’d be better prepared with all the picnic gear too!

Thank You for a wonderful day Lord, and awesome company and fellowship!

Leave a Reply

