Matakana Village Farmers Market.


I got to go out of the city today! Woooohooooo~~

Yes I am a bit overly excited since I don’t get to go around much, especially outside of the CBD so it was great that I occasionally get to have friends who can pick me up and let me hitch a ride and tag along with them on their family outings.

Audrey P invited me to join her and her family (hubby and baby G) to the outskirts today just to check out what the big rave is about when people say go to Matakana for the market. It was a 45 minutes drive out from Auckland city, and we left the city at about 10:30am and arrived just a little after 11:15am. It was a great weather today, hot and almost summer weather really. So thank You Lord for a good weather today!

image

image

The village is really “a village”. Not many things to see and explore around but interestingly what caught my attention was that they had a small cinema! The main market itself wasn’t really big, and most of the items were vintage collectibles, some summer fashion, even paddle woods, jewelry and second hand garage sale. But mind you, they weren’t so cheap as you would expect a “market” to be. I saw summer clothes, tops and pants selling for $35 and thought I could get pants for around that price in the city too.

image

image

image

image

There were also hats, soaps, and other trinkets being sold at the market.

image

I was especially attracted to the vintage poster shop that was there. Really cool place and the posters were not cheap though! I saw a few worth at least $120 and above!

image

They have a website for the shop outlet too. Head to http://www.ArtRetro.co.nz if you wanna find out more. There were a lot of Audrey Hepburn posters as well and some black cat posters in French.

image

image

image

I also saw a stall selling antiques and old kitchenware and tools. But what really caught my interest was the antique & vintage cameras! I didn’t bother to ask for the price though since I didn’t have the intention to buy them anyway. Didn’t want to offend anyone by asking for the price. You know, like in the Hong Kong markets, we’d get crap for asking the price if we weren’t seriously thinking of buying. I just wanted to be on the safe side.

image

Aside from the goods and items, the other side of the market sold gourmet food. Which reminded me of the markets at Salcedo Park in Makati and also the Legaspi Markets on Sundays in the Philippines. I will say that there were a lot of food stuff like pies, cheese, gluten-free stuff and all, but nothing that really made me want to try them out. Not just because they were not cheap, but also cos it didn’t look interesting enough.

image

What surprised me really was the number of people actually there at the market to buy food to eat and just chill and hang out. It was also nice that there was a band playing there to set the “market” mood.

image

Audrey bought some chocolate coated cinnamon bread sticks for baby G and I tried some, it didn’t blow my mind away. So the tour around the market went by really quick and we didn’t find anything we could have for lunch there so we just ended up going outside the market at the village area and ate at a local takeaway place and had fish and chips. Which reminds me I forgot to take a photo of our lunch but aside from the really oily breading, the fish was actually really nice and fresh! $10 for a fish and chips combo meal was quite a large serving and good for 2 people. Audrey was really kind enough to let me share with her so we just had to get 2 orders for 3 adults.

After fish and chips, dessert! There was a cafe there that sold organic ice cream and I bought a cup with 1 scoop of double chocolate flavor for $5. Pretty expensive ice cream for a small town, but according to Audrey’s hubby, the village is really the closest town to the beach nearby and lots of people have bachs (holiday homes) there that they get away to during vacations so it seems like the area is trying to raise the costs of their produce around that area.

image

With my “oob” double chocolate ice cream. A groufie with Simon, Audrey and baby G outside the ice cream cafe. My face is cut off again. I should really consider getting that camera selfie stick.

image

After leaving the village at about 2:30pm, we dropped by the next town nearby, Warkworth Town Wharf along the Mahurangi River just to let baby G play and use up her battery at the play ground before heading back to the city.

image

I took some shots of the peaceful river and nice Saturday outdoor chillaxing.. Audrey and I just walked down the path along the river and chit chat about everything we could think of. It’s really comfortable talking to Audrey cos we could talk about anything, life, kids, lovelife, no lovelife.. whatever! And we just sat down, hang out and talked for a bit while Simon kept baby G occupied at the play ground.

image

A selfie with the other boats parked at the wharf along the river.

image

Audrey helped me take this shot of the river behind me with a yacht or boat?

image

This is the gated play ground that Audrey brought baby G to even for a short while just before we head off and end the day. That’s one of the awesome things about NZ where the playground is actually where kids want to play and hang out at instead of just staying indoors with their TVs or computer games.

image

Thanks for the lovely day out today Audrey! We’ll catch up again next time ^_^

Leave a Reply

