Omelette Muffins 🐣 #homeBaking


Today I was in the mood to try something new. Even if it meant I’d have to go through all that hassle and effort of cooking.

I prepared smart, I bought all the ingredients yesterday and only made the muffins today since I didn’t want to just tire myself from all that grocery shopping and dragging grocery bags home.

I have to give credit to this site, Tip Hero that gave me the inspiration to try this out. I actually saw that link from Facebook shared by one of my friends, Joyce. So as much as FB can be a pain in the butt, sometimes we can get pretty useful things from it too.

So I’m not gonna go into too much detail on all the ingredients and measurements cos I just got that all from the source website. I’m just gonna go ahead and flood the screen with photos of my little cooking/baking adventure.

image

Look at all that chopping I had to do!!! Onions, raw Ham, eggplants. Grrrr… I’m thinking to find more ready made/cooked ingredients for my next attempt on this recipe.

image

After all that chopping and slicing, I still had to quickly stir fry and cook the ham and eggplants cos they can’t be baked and cooked within 20 minutes in the oven anyway.

image

Look ma! I’m actually cooking!

image

The stir fry and cooking was hard work aside from chopping because I realized that the cooking takes at least 10-15 minutes for the eggplants to soften and arrive at a desired texture. After cooking the muffin stuffing, (hey that rhymed!) It was time to prepare the batter. 4 eggs, mixed with baking powder, milk, oil, then salt and pepper to taste. Easy right?

image

And all that egg mix comes up to about 350 ml. Which I calculated at the end, could make up to 10 muffins. So I had to do a second batch of course.

image

Bought Canola cooking spray! Lovin’ this product! And sprayed onto my $4.00 worth of 6-pax muffin tray.

image

Next the stuffing! Can you see the bits and cubes of eggplant, with a bit of diced tomatoes and ham?

image

Topped that with Mozzarella cheese just because I like my cheese chewy and stretchy like Pizza~ then our the egg mixture over them!

image

I’m usually very bad at using ovens because I can’t tell how hot it should be, cos it should be adjustable according to your batter mixture. So I just went ahead with the instructions from the website and put it to “High” on the dial. I think that was at least 300 degree. And baked it for 25 minutes just to be sure.

image

Look at them babies in the oven! The reflection is too clear that you can’t really make the raising muffins out but you can tell how excited I was about them that I just had to get a photo!

image

Aaaand they’re out!! Slightly burnt I would say cos the color is a bit too brown, but I tried them and they tasted fine and not at all burnt or charcoal.

image

Woohoooo!!!

image

and now, a few selfies with my omelette muffins!

image

If you had noticed the tray behind me, two of the muffins are missing. One of them on the plate I’m holding. The other obviously got into my stomach before I managed to take a photo with it.

image

mmmmmm…. my precious~~~!!!!!

image

image

Look at how awesome this photo is, I deliberately forked out a bit of the muffin so the photo captures the stuffing inside.. oooohhh….

I must say, it does taste better with ketchup though, and I didn’t have enough ketchup with me, which means I need to grab a bottle from the dairy. Urgh.

But yay to success! It only took me about.. what, 3 hours??? Yes, it was a LOT of work and not to mention TIME taken to produce just 6 little muffins. However, I was just reminded in Colossians 3:17 that whatever I do (even as mundane as house chores, or cooking and baking for that matter!), I should do it in the name of Jesus, and give thanks to God for providing me with the ability to have food on the table, capable hands, sight and especially taste buds to create a meal! 

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. – Colossians 3:17 (NIV)

So no complaints here, just thankful to have my stomachs filled and still honor God with the simple daily tasks in life!

Leave a Reply

