Beautiful Saturday Outdoors.


Audrey invited me to spend the Saturday with her family and friends outdoor if the weather was good. And it indeed was a beautiful day to spend outside! I made my way to her home by bus, good thing it wasn’t too far, and was about 20 minutes away by bus. I did get off a little too soon and had to walk about 10 minutes from where I got off the bus from. But it was all good. Good weather, bright sunny day so it was good exercise for me!

I rode with Bronson and his dad, stopped by the sushi place and got some food for the little picnic. At about 11am we arrived at the Little Rangitoto Reserve, which was a little park nearby Audrey’s home. There were a few other people there too bringing their kids out and it was nice to see how the park is fully utilized by the surrounding community.

image

image

We were stationed right in front of the play ground, so the twins could play and enjoy themselves. I just sat at the picnic mat, ate and basically basked in the sun and enjoyed the fresh air and my surrounding. It was so peaceful and homey, made me really wish I had my own family although I thought that was crazy of me to think of having my own kids knowing how terrible I’d be at parenting. But I guess seeing all the family around me just made me miss my nieces and wished I could enjoy that moment with my sister, my mom, my brother and their families and kids around.

image
image

I was glad that I wasn’t the only one without kids around there. Audrey’s friend, Grace came by and brought her dog Dalfy (short for Gandalf) along with her. So I was not alone! Yehey! But yea, I was so impressed that her dig Dalfy was quite the smart one! Could do tricks and all, and most of the times, he was pretty obedient too. Except for times where he gets overly excited about seeing other dogs around him.

image

So we all just hang out, had some sushi, some eggs with snapper that Grace brought along with her. Chit chat, and just enjoyed everyone’s company. Audrey asked Grace and I if we wanted to walk around and that we could just go ahead. So Grace gladly took Dalfy and I for a very long walk! We walked all the way down to the Orakei Basin where it was formerly a volcano that eventually became a lagoon.

image

image

We just walked along the walkway and Grace let Dalfy loose and enjoy the nature around, and even let him go for a swim in the lake! There were a lot of other people passing by the walk way and lots of them brought their dogs along too. I mean, even if I’m not much of a dog person, this place really made me want to have a dog!

image

image

image

image

Audrey and the fam went home while Grace and I walked around the area and the Orakei Basin. They got rather lost and couldn’t find the place and hence decided to meet up with us later. Thing is, Grace’s handbag where her car keys were is with the Chin family, so we couldn’t get the car anyway when we were thinking of walking back to the park. So after we were done with the Orakei Basin walk, Grace suggested we walked to her house while we waited for Audrey and the fam to get settled and perhaps meet up a bit later in the afternoon.

Grace’s house was about 20 minutes walk from the Basin, and her house was just so lovely, red bricks and all. Even if it was an old house built in the 1950s it was still a beautiful house. Good thing she had a spare key so we were able to get into the house while waiting for the Chins. It was nice to have spent time with her and got to know her a bit more.

By about 3pm, the Chins came and brought Grace’s car to her house. And we all went to Sun Rise restaurant in Newmarket for a late lunch. Which also turned out to be a very expensive lunch for Grace cos her car almost got towed away for parking on a hydrant. So she had to pay the fine of about $117. Good thing they haven’t towed her car away and she got there just in time! 😜

After the little incident, we went on to Kohimarama Beach to hang out just a bit more. I was just as surprised as Grace was when Audrey and her husband was very willing to bring the kids to the beach even after a very active morning! We thought they’d be tired and all, but nope! Guess all that energy from the twins sort of transfers to the parents too 😉

image

image

image

We were at the beach very briefly, not too long anyway cos it was getting pretty cold. The twins got to play a bit in the sand, and we ended the day with some Gelato from The Shop around the corner.

I feel so thankful and grateful that I get to know very kind and awesome people! Thanks Audrey and family! And also to new found friend Grace, she gave me a ride home even if it was out her way! Awww! So blessed!!

 

Leave a Reply

