Yo Soy, Betty La Fea



watched this Telenovela during college break back in 2002. I was crazy about it! I would tune in everyday at 5pm just to watch it and even record it whenever I have to miss an episode!! and only till now, I realised why they aired it in Malaysia.

Apparently, when it first aired in Columbia, it immediately became a fever to all Telenova fans. It was such a hit that it spread all across the globe and even had different versions of the remake of Betty La Fea.

The most recent version that joined in this fever is the U.S. version produced by Salma Hayek.

I watched the clips here and there. And it has a whole load of added characters which were not in the original Yo Soy Betty La Fea. It is still interesting though, and set on a more contemporary tone and the show is called “UGLY BETTY” and they didnt change the title as well, just simply translated it. However, “Yo Soy Betty La Fea” translated directly is spose to mean, “I AM BETTY, THE UGLY ONE.”

However, I personally do not like the cast of the character “BETTY” where they chose America Ferrera as Betty cos I thought they would really take a trully beautiful looking girl and turn them ugly just as they had done with the orignal “Betty” in the Columbian Version which they chose Ana Maria Orozco.

But despite having peeks at different versions of “Betty”s, I still prefer the original Betty and I think the original BETTY is still THE UGLIEST among them all!!! The American BETTY just seemed too cleaned up and you could tell that the ugliness was FAKED..

Anyway, it is still interesting though.. the American version. But just listening to the Spanish language in the original makes me melt more!!

Leave a Reply

